Book of the year. Peter Wadhams (2016) A Farewell to Ice. A Report From the Arctic.

odonnellgrunting

blue planet.jpg

A writer has one imperative, or simple rule – read. Often I have little understanding of what I’m reading. Usually there is a but here. I do not understand Einstein’s Theory of Relativity, but…kinda like a meme from T. S. Eliot’s Little Gidding: ‘We shall not cease from exploration/And the end of all our exploring/Will be to arrive where we started.’ Or Rumi’s parable of the elephant and six blind men. One holding onto a leg, or trunk, an ear, and explaining to the other what in the world stands true. Wadhams’ A Farewell to Ice is a familiar tale and it is distilled into a line of poetry he quotes from mystic Francis Thompson: ‘Thou canst not stir a flower/Without troubling of a star’.

Like Jonah preaching to the Ninevites and warning them they have forty days, Wadhams is telling us much the same thing about the accelerating effects…

View original post 596 more words

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Book of the year. Peter Wadhams (2016) A Farewell to Ice. A Report From the Arctic.

  1. mgrooters

    Wow- thank you for the book title and review. Will read it this winter. Shared it.

  2. Alk3r has a time lapse of the artic from Google earth

  3. Hello Mikey! I’m so glad to see you’re still here (I say that like you actually went anywhere… it’s me that goes and comes back, and goes and comes back). How are you?

    • Well, Anna, I’m a bit snowed under (metaphorically), as my wife has a significant health challenge she doesn’t wish me to write about – yet. So I haven’t written much this year, mostly re-blogs like this article. Gotta do real world tasks instead.

      On the upside, we’ve just started training our seventh service dog puppy, and haven’t had one “fail” since our first. His name is Brock, he’s a yellow Lab, and he’s going to be HUGE. He’s as big at four months as Spice was full-grown.

      And I’m filling up the DVR with Christmas movies, TV shows and music. It makes us jolly enough at this time of year that Mary even skips watching the news most days. (Imagine that!)

      I’m glad to be able to read your work again, and thanks for asking. HAPPY CHRISTMAS!

      • Well thank you for the update, it’s really good to hear from you! I’m very sorry to hear about your wife, I hope that she will be okay and I am sending my best wishes. Brock sounds absolutely lovely, I’m glad that’s going well. And filling up the DVR sounds marvellous- I hope you have a Merry Christmas 🙂

Leave a Reply

