The Most Radical Reaction to Ebola is Compassion

Dr. Scott Morris

Over the weekend, my wife, Mary, told me that she intends to get a flu shot this year (which she never does) because she believes it will prevent her from contracting Ebola.

I think she is only partially kidding.

I’m sure you’ve heard by now that a nurse in Dallas has contracted Ebola from the patient who died there last week. It was the lead story in my local paper, and I’m guessing that it was on the front page of your go-to news source as well. We can’t look away from disaster.

Or, in this case, perceived disaster.

Ebola is indeed a terrible disease, but I’m convinced that it does not warrant the hysteria it has created in the United States.

Ebola has been linked to Liberia, and anyone from that country is now considered a potential carrier of the disease. Until recently, few Americans could find Liberia on…

View original post 334 more words

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “The Most Radical Reaction to Ebola is Compassion

  1. Susan Price-Jang

    Thank you Michael. I have shared this on FB. Just today someone that I know said that Ebola was the new AIDS. I could not have disagreed more…

    • You’re welcome. There are some similarities to the historical event of the initial spread of AIDS in America, in terms of how misinformation and fear cause prejudice against those who contract the disease. Perhaps that was what the person you spoke with meant.

      I’ve been seeing a ton of “It’s Obama’s fault” articles, and calls for travel bans from and even to the African countries. Scary stuff brings out both the best and the worst in people. I liked this author’s attitude particularly.

  2. It;s nice to read a response other than the hyped up hysteria promoted by other media sources. Thanks for this.

  3. drscottmorrisblog

    Thank you so much for reblogging my post. I really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

