“The Obamacare Bait And Switch”: America’s Beloved Health Insurance Industry Demonstrates Why We Needed Reform All Along

Invisible Mikey:

Note from Mikey —

Regular readers here know how much I enjoy getting to the reality underneath the smoke and bs of news stories. This writer, a health care provider, is also a great “deconstruction worker”.

Originally posted on mykeystrokes.com:

So here’s my advice: If you’re somebody who’s smoking hot about the Big Lie of the Affordable Care Act — you know, how President Obama told everybody that if they liked their current health insurance policy they could keep it — do yourself a favor. Avoid the county fair midway.

Because if you go, you’re apt to encounter a quick-handed scoundrel running a shell game, and that boy will take your money. Doubtless Obama should have said almosteverybody could keep their current plan, or that 95 percent could, but he apparently found that too, um, subtle for the campaign trail.

So now old Mitt “47-percent” Romney gets to call him a liar.

But while your attention’s fixed on the president’s “mendacity,” and “paternalism,” to quote one characteristically overwrought scribe, America’s beloved health insurance industry is demonstrating exactly why we needed reform all along. Certain companies are taking advantage of…

View original 671 more words

10 Comments

Filed under debt, Ethics and Morality, Money

10 responses to ““The Obamacare Bait And Switch”: America’s Beloved Health Insurance Industry Demonstrates Why We Needed Reform All Along

  1. I found this article very helpful and informative. I am among those who have a private policy (something I needed to bridge the gap between retirement and Medicare). It has good coverage for less than $200 a month. Yes, it includes hospitalization, but admittedly with a high deductible.

    I got the cancellation letter with an offer to transfer me to a similar new plan that would cost me $600 a month. As you can guess, I’m shopping.

    I supported the Affordable Care Act, with the caveat that it didn’t go far enough. I personally believe in a single payer system. And while I was not expecting this turn of events for myself (I believed that I could keep my current policy), I know that we need healthcare reform.

    For example, when I purchased my private policy when I retired, I could not get two of my daughters covered, one because she was pregnant, and the other because of a pre-existing condition. Even though I was willing to pay for insurance for them, they had to get a government sponsored policy at taxpayers’ expense. How much sense does that make?!

    So even though I’m not happy about my personal situation, I know that many more people will benefit from this move. And I agree that much of the negative impact that we are seeing now is not because of the law but because of the insurance industry’s manipulation. As you said, the best evidence of the need for reform.

    • Nice to have you here, Galen. You understand the philosophic dimensions so well because you are both pragmatic and compassionate. My intuition and experience leads me to believe there are layers of rogues to wade through to get to the truth. It’s such a complex law, and the temptation to act unethically to maximize profit is strong. I don’t personally qualify for ACA plans, and my premiums are going down, but I can’t adequately answer why different states are getting such varying results.

      I do believe there will be legislative changes to level the playing field, but it’s hard to say how long that will take. Some politicians (Cruz, Cornyn, Issa) are using the problems as an oratory platform to increase their own standing, instead of trying to fix what isn’t working. The bottom line is that all people deserve basic health care services, and it’s more important to figure out how to provide them than to pay for war or most other kinds of expenditures.

  2. Yikes! You really can’t trust big business. Thanks for the eye-opener. I think everyone deserves healthcare. I’m so grateful this healthcare act went into effect as so many people have been disqualified from insurance and decent healthcare.

    • I’m grateful for any step in the right direction too, Sandra. I wish I had more legal expertise so I could understand more of the nuances of how the law is supposed to work, or does, or doesn’t. Maybe I’ll have a talk with one of our local “navigators” to ask some basic questions.

  3. DaPoet

    Like 401ks insurance is both a scam and a pyramid scheme big business uses to get rich by ripping off their customers and employees while preying like vultures on their misery. But then what else can one expect from an industry aided and abetted by both big government conservative and liberal politicians.

  4. Blu

    The ACA hype de-constructed, indeed : ) Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

