Steampunk Snaps

Agent O (Men in Brown – 1895)

My outfit took a turn toward spywear, an appropriate expression of my personality.  I found an African metal object in my box of odd accessories, stuck it on the coat as a badge, and became a Victorian paranormal operative.  In the tents of the bodgers were all kinds of clothes and creatively crafted fantasy weapons.  Many of the steampunk events occurred in rooms too dark to photograph, but here are some peeks from the lighter places.

Pre-Hunt Preparations

I especially liked their attitude toward Zombie hunting.  The organizer explained they were a protected species, so even though it might be prudent to carry a weapon, the competition would be determined by convincing the Zombies to give their brains up voluntarily.  It reflects our local dynamic of peaceful coexistence with wildlife.

This was the winner, with seven brains collected.  His strategy:

“I told the Zombies they wouldn’t need them any more.”

7 Comments

Filed under humor, photos

7 responses to “Steampunk Snaps

  1. PT definitely is a steampunk kinda town. But isn’t steampunk really about engineering and design, not costume? Build us a dirigible, Mikey, and I swear I’ll come.

    • I’m afraid my expertise is limited to imagineering, however the costumed role-playing is as much a part of the live conventions as is the design and building of stuff. It’s an opportunity for readers and fans to have a more immersive experience, like at ComicCon or Star Trek events.

      (Spice wasn’t impressed with the Zombies, but she got to walk a lot.)

  2. Today’s SPAM of the DAY winner left this message:
    “Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently fast.”

    You would think they were selling some sort of financial product, right?
    NO – Banana Nut Muffins!

  3. Very,very unusual pictures.
    The zombie winner could have had my brain; I’m not USING it anymore.

    • All of us adults present could see the impeccable logic of his argument, as well as the reflective meaning you’ve presented. Watching the creativity of children helps re-start the part of my brain I’m not using. Thanks, CaL.

  4. So these are the residents of PT…. very, uh, interesting bunch. I can see why they don’t live in the big city…

    • Actually, many of them came here from Seattle just to attend the event. It was a financial success, besides being a fun thing to add to our festival season. Tourism is a key part of our small town economy. Nice to see you, Susie!

Leave a Reply

