Deluxe Gift Baskets (#3)

http://home.myfairpoint.net/vze6omtd/jorysquibb/index.html

Jory Squibb built a microcar, which he named Moonbeam.  It took 1000 hours and $2500 in materials – mostly Honda Elite scooter parts.  It holds two adults, includes a heater, goes 45mph and has a range of 200 miles on a 2-gallon tank. I know how to do lots of things, but not this kind of thing.  Here’s where I’ve been reading how to:

Write for the TeeVee. I still prefer blogging, but as I dip my toes in the deep end of writing I’m enjoying learning more about television script forms and formats at my pal Larry Brody’s site TV Writer.Com http://tvwriter.com/ The man’s written and produced hundreds of episodes of everything from cop shows to cartoons, and he’s willing to share much of his knowledge and experience for free, though he also wrote a book on it if you are feeling generous.  He teaches online classes for much less than you would pay in college tuition.

Do Stuff Around the House. I am a nerd.  I do not salivate over power tools.  That said, I do get a sense of empowerment from learning more about how to fix things.  Harry the Handyman’s site http://harrythehandyman.wordpress.com/ is full of guidance, arranged by categories like electrical, fencing, painting and decking.  It’s profusely illustrated with photos.  Harry even offers a DIY forum where you can ask specific questions about your home projects.  He’s in the UK so you might need to convert measures from metric, but his advice loses nothing in translation.

Cook, by methods other than the microwave. I love to eat, but being a workaholic (in recovery) who’s married to another one, we don’t know how to cook other than how to heat things in the radiation box.  Kiwi Dutch’s gorgeous recipe posts at Local Heart, Global Soul http://kiwidutch.wordpress.com/ got me interested in trying to learn more about cooking, and now I surf through food sites almost every day.  My latest favorite is just getting started, but Jamie Hughes at Jamie’s Food & Serenity http://jamiesfoodandserenity.wordpress.com/ already understands that food and inner peace can be, no, SHOULD BE related.  She knows that part of homemaking is making us at home in our lives.  Still in her second month of blogging, she’s written clear, useful posts for cooking dummies (like me) on what utensils you need, baking basics and bread making.  Her site boasts good lists of links to other sites, including how-to videos.  She deserves more attention.

10 Comments

Filed under Communications, Technology

10 responses to “Deluxe Gift Baskets (#3)

  1. I’m enjoying these baskets o’ goodies, Mikey. Keep ‘em coming!

  2. Cool! I like making them, so will do.

  3. Aw Thank You Mikey,
    Think of your kitchen as a calming place where creativity produces edible results and you will go far!
    Like most things a little patience and practice goes a long way, as your skills improve you will learn to judge how hot (or not) your oven is, what constitutes “done” and if that extra handful that you just threw in will be a help or a hindrance (bacon, or cheese usually helps, but from eye watering experience: cayanne, salt or chillies, caution *would* have been a better idea :) )
    Most of all, experiment, be prepared for new tastes, the odd failure and don’t be afraid to try some recipes out in miniature, and have say three or four simple dishes tapas style.
    Start out small with stuff you are comfortable with and xtend your range as your confidence grows. Bon Ap !

    I needed cheering up .. the last few days have been full of seriously bad health news concerning two good friends both of whom have young children.

    • I’m sorry you’ve been hurting over your friends’ situation. It’s difficult indeed to plan for the welfare of young survivors. I generally only see that from a place where we sometimes have to give people the bad news about their tests.

      As far as the lovely kitchen and cooking stuff goes, I’ve been learning those very things from you bit by bit from your posts. Your appreciation of a proper balance between time, space, beauty and food have been inspiring me for many months. Our kitchen space was already inviting, and well-ordered in terms of the big appliances and storage space. Last week Mary cooked dinner for me and a couple of new friends. She took practice runs at the dishes in the days before, and made refinements. It was the first time we’ve had anyone in for dinner at Casa Deluxe, and it was a big success – one of the nicest birthday presents I’ve ever gotten.

  4. My hubby and I have the same challenge when it comes to cooking. Anything at the level of cooking for dummies is perfect for us. Thanks!

  5. Any growth is good growth. Well, except for a planter’s wart, I guess. Nice to see you developing some new talents. I’d love to read about your trials and triumphs.

    • The scalloped potatoes turned out really well. There’s a cooking boutique in our little town. We bought measuring spoons and cups today. One step at a time. (Flour looks a lot like powdered sugar. It’s important to label your containers!)

  6. Invisible Mikey,
    Thank you so much for your compliments, and promoting my writing. I am young and sometimes afraid my words will not be taken seriously, so your comment was very encouraging to me. I wasn’t entirely confident in writing this blog at first because I’m not a professional, and since I was writing about living too I was a bit paranoid about offending anyone with my opinions. I am a college student currently, and I interact with many other classmates weekly. I am discovering more and more that many people don’t know how to cook, but they are always intrigued by cooking and good food (it’s in our nature I think), and they’re not sure how to balance their home lives either. So I became more confident in sharing my thoughts because I want others to find the same confidence and stability that I am finding—internally at the very least. As I grew up my father always shared with me the things he learned when he learned them, so I could I understand that everyone learns all the time no matter how old they are. So I decided to write that way. I want to write simple things that I learn, hoping that my readers will feel at ease about the topic, and like they can do it. I encourage you and your wife to keep learning new ways of cooking. There is a strong sense of peace of mind that comes with the skill of cooking, and it can bring you and your loved ones close together in very small ways, that turn into big ways. Thank you so much again for your encouraging words. You definitely have me as one of your readers. :-). Best of luck, and please, if you and your wife are curious about any meals or ingredients please ask me. I’d like to learn new things, have new challenges, and know what others want to learn about.
    -Jamie Hughes

    • The compliments were entirely deserved. Clean and direct is my favorite style, and it’s even more important when writing about how to do things. I liked your blog better because the foodview is part of the worldview, like in my pal Kiwi’s posts. We do associate foods with family and places and seasons and everything. I’m just starting to appreciate that!

Leave a Reply

